Senate Confirms Nomination of 19 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs)

The Senate, has confirmed the nomination of the 19 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), earlier sent to it for approval.

ENYIMBA FM recalls certain individuals and groups had alleged that some of the nominees were card-carrying members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and expressed doubts over their ability to be neutral in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Minority Leader of the Senate, Senator Phillip Aduda, attempted to raise the issue after the Chairman, Committee on INEC, Senator Kabiru Gaya, presented his report but was cautioned by  the Chief Whip, Senator Uzor Kalu.

Kalu said Aduda, who was a member of the INEC panel that screened the nominees, did not raise any objection during the screening session.